Freedom From Windows

30 Apr

It is with a happy heart that I write this post from within Ubuntu 10.04. It has only been 24 hours since I installed Ubuntu 10.04 and everything is going great. This is the first time that I have booted only Unix, without Windows installed at all and I have to admit that it’s not as bad as I thought it would be.

I have dual-booted Unix (Ubuntu) and Windows for a few years, but to finally make the jump to a Unix only environment is liberating. The pre-installed applications on Ubuntu suit my needs better than what is pre-installed on Windows and the ability and ease with which I can install and run web applications and servers is easier under Ubuntu than Windows for me.

I keep thinking that there will be something that I will need Windows for, I did pay to use it for so many years with the feeling that I just had to use it. Yet, after only one day with a single-boot Ubuntu environment I have not found a single thing that I actually need Windows for. In the future I may find something that I need Windows for, but so far the way things are going that is doubtful.

If you are like me and have gotten tired of Window and don’t know what other options you have, why not try Ubuntu? Just stop by www.ubuntu.com and download a copy and burn it to a cd. After that you can boot Ubuntu from that cd and try it out without the need to install it.

Leave a Reply

